Mark Madsen of LA Clippers Gets Scammed for $110,000

Daniel GoncalvesMark Madsen, the “Mad Dog” who got traded to the Clippers recently, was apparently scammed buying the domain p2p.com from a thief.

Madsen bought the domain on eBay from Daniel Goncalves for $110,000. The problem was Goncalves was not the owner of the domain. He snatched it off GoDaddy.com. Reports indicate that this was the first arrest made for a domain theft in US.

It seems Goncalves picked the wrong target to mess with. One of the original owners of P2P.com is a well-known millionaire and the other is a former Justice Department lawyer. That’s probably why a case like this was able to lead to an arrest. In most cases, time and money needed to push such an investigation is not feasible.

You can read the full story here

[...] Records obtained from GoDaddy, the world’s largest domain registrar, verified that the same IP address that was used to log into the company’s account and initiate the transfer was Goncalves’, the sergeant said. A published report says Goncalves hacked into the company’s AOL account to gain access.

Attempts were made soon after to transfer the domain name to a different registrar. However, rules by ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) prohibit such a move for 60 days. So Goncalves maintained p2p.com in his own account, Jones said.

Goncalves moved the domain name to a different registrar. Reports say he used his fiancee’s maiden name, Louvado, more than a week after the 60-day GoDaddy transfer prohibition was concluded, authorities said.

Goncalves again waited the mandatory 60 days before listing the name for sale on eBay, where it was bought for just over $111,000 by Madsen of the Los Angeles Clippers.

Goncalves, who lives in Union Township in Union County, remains free on $60,000 cash bail.

Meanwhile, the original owners are still waiting to reclaim the name through civil litigation involving ownership and profits, Jones said. They have included GoDaddy.com as a defendant in their lawsuit, claiming negligence and contributing to trademark infringement. [...]

What was Mark Madsen going to do with p2p.com anyways? Trying to invest in domain names, Mark? It seems he’s an avid domain name speculator. Madsen once bought and sold menstrualperiods.ca, too among many.He’s been quiet since his days as a Laker. In case you don’t remember him well. Here’s a reminder:

Related Posts:

This entry was posted in SFI News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*   -Do not use your website or company name.
*

Rules:

  1. Do not spam. Akismet does an excellent job of catching spam.
  2. Omit "www." and "http://" in your comment. We don't want people clicking on scam sites.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Powered by Sweet Captcha
Verify your real existence,
Drag the bow tie to the car
  • captcha
  • captcha
  • captcha
  • captcha

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

One Comment

  1. will
    Posted August 8, 2009 at 4:33 pm | Permalink

    I love Mark Madsen.

  • Recent Discussions

    • User Avatarern "Do you know firstsing.com?? ?" – Feb 06, 10:39 PM
    • User AvatarKVNPark "No it does not mean it's okay. That one looks like a scam as well. All the products look like..." – Feb 04, 11:34 PM
    • User AvatarKVNPark "I'm almost certain it's a scam. It's Chinese and the fact that there is a logo but no way to..." – Feb 04, 11:22 PM
    • User Avatarhannah "oh and can you PLEASE have a look at this one weddingdressess hop.co.nz It's weird because its in china and its..." – Feb 04, 10:38 PM
    • User Avatarhannah "found a dress on here ive been trying to find for aaages however they only accept bank transfer or western..." – Feb 04, 9:34 PM
    • Generated by BWP Recent Comments.
  • Announcements

    The site was hacked via timthumb.php vulnerability. I think it's fixed for good now. If you suspect a breach on your site, visit Sucuri Scanner to scan your site.

    Scam Websites Lists:

    P2P Sites | Online TV Sites | Make Money Sites
    Diet Sites | Teeth Whitening Sites | Fraudulent Online Stores

  • Categories

  • Archives

ScamFreeInternet.com© reserved by KVNPark and... Blacy!© Icons copyright reserved by Netease company