Chinese Scaring Domain Owners to Buy More Domains

DomainDiceNever heard of this one (from Tech Republic) before.

Some Chinese companies are using a scare tactic to force domain owners to buy .cn domains. An email is sent out to the domain owner telling her some other party is trying to register a domain name very close to her own.

We talked about “cybersquatting” before, and these emails are in the form of a warning against cybersquatters as these email would have you believe.

Their goal is to get you to buy these domains before this unknown someone snatches up the domain and sell it to you later for an exorbitant price or steal your customers.

Here’s a sample email. (names changed — to “Foo” and “Bar” for the outside entities, and “example” for my own domain names)

We are Shanghai Foo Network Information Technology Co.,which is the domain name register center in China.I have something need to confirm with you.

We have received an application formally.one company named “Bar (China) Investment Co.” applies for the domain names(www.example.cn www.example.com.cn etc.),and the Internet keyword(example) on the internet September 17,2009.We need to know the opinion of your company because the domain names and keyword may relate to the copyright of brand name on internet.

we would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.

Simply, don’t respond to these emails. You may be handing over your email address to other scammers.

Also Making News Today

Related Posts:

This entry was posted in Around the Web, Scam Alerts, SFI News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*   -Do not use your website or company name.
*

Rules:

  1. Do not spam. Akismet does an excellent job of catching spam.
  2. Omit "www." and "http://" in your comment. We don't want people clicking on scam sites.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Powered by Sweet Captcha
Verify your real existence,
Drag the tie to the blazer
  • captcha
  • captcha
  • captcha
  • captcha

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

  • Recent Discussions

    • User AvatarKVNPark "No it does not mean it's okay. That one looks like a scam as well. All the products look like..." – Feb 04, 11:34 PM
    • User AvatarKVNPark "I'm almost certain it's a scam. It's Chinese and the fact that there is a logo but no way to..." – Feb 04, 11:22 PM
    • User Avatarhannah "oh and can you PLEASE have a look at this one weddingdressess hop.co.nz It's weird because its in china and its..." – Feb 04, 10:38 PM
    • User Avatarhannah "found a dress on here ive been trying to find for aaages however they only accept bank transfer or western..." – Feb 04, 9:34 PM
    • User AvatarLaxie "I use WOT - Web of Trust - when I'm on FB to easily see which sites are scams. It..." – Feb 04, 3:47 AM
    • Generated by BWP Recent Comments.
  • Announcements

    The site was hacked via timthumb.php vulnerability. I think it's fixed for good now. If you suspect a breach on your site, visit Sucuri Scanner to scan your site.

    Scam Websites Lists:

    P2P Sites | Online TV Sites | Make Money Sites
    Diet Sites | Teeth Whitening Sites | Fraudulent Online Stores

  • Categories

  • Archives

ScamFreeInternet.com© reserved by KVNPark and... Blacy!© Icons copyright reserved by Netease company